• Screen Reader Access
  • A-AA+
  • NotificationWeb

    Title should not be more than 100 characters.


Asset Publisher


Nashik Division includes the Ahmednagar district. Solapur (South East- Osmanabad, Beed, Aurangabad, Nashik Thane, and Pune) are the districts that border Ahmednagar.

About Ahmednagar
In 1494 AD, the district of Mazalak Ahmed was founded, and the capital city of Nizamshah was renamed Ahmednagar after him. Since the city of Ahmednagar was founded, Ahmednagar was the name given to the district. Ahmednagar district was established in 1822, following the end of the Peshwa period. At the time, Ahmednagar district's border ran from Wani in present-day Nashik district to the district of Solapur in Karmala on the other end. Wani and Karmala were excluded from Ahmednagar district when Nashik and Solapur districts were formed in 1869. From February 1981, the Ahmednagar District of the Pune Revenue Division was included into the new revenue
department of Nashik.

Land Forms
Ahmednagar district has a diverse range of terrain types. In the western half of the district, there are hilly Sahyadri offshoots. The hill ranges of Kalsubai, Adula, Baleshwar, and Harishchandragad are named after them. The highest peak in the Sahyadris, Kalsubai, is located in Ahmednagar district. Other peaks in the district include Harishchandragad, Ratangad, Kulang, and Ajuba.
We see the Vita ghat on the way to Randha falls and the Chandanpuri ghat on the Pune-Sangamner road.If we consider the physical setup of Ahmednagar district we see that there are three physical divisions
Western Hilly Region
Central Plateau Region
The region of northern and southern plains
Western Hilly Region
Central Plateau Region
The Region of Northern and Southern plains

Two major rivers, the Godavari and the Bhima, a Krishna tributary, drain the area. The Water-shed line is a large spur of the Sahyadris that splits off at Harichandragad and runs from west to east through the region. Paravara, Mula, Sina, and Dhora are the major rivers that pass through the area.
Pravara is tributary of the river Godavari. Waters of the river Pravara fall from a great height, creating the Randha Falls.

The western hilly part of Ahmednagar district has forests. Teak, babul, dhavada, haldu and neem are trees found in these forests. Fruit trees like Mango, Tamrind, Amala, Bor are also found in the district.
Area: 17,048 Sq. Km.

How to Reach
By Air:
Seaplane service connects Ahmednagar to the rest of the world. The seaplane port is 30 minutes from Ahmednagar City, at the Mula Dam water reservoir.
Maritime Energy Heli Air Services Pvt. Ltd. (MEHAIR) has been providing this service from September 22, 2014. There is an ongoing flight from Mumbai's Juhu to Mula Dam.
Now the new airport has started at Shirdi which is 80 km from Ahmednagar and the only airport in the district. Regular flights from Mumbai, Delhi, and Hyderabad fly to Shirdi. Currently, it is served by Air India and SpiceJet.

By Train:
Main article: Ahmednagar railway station
Ahmednagar railway station (station code:ANG) is located in the Solapur Division of the Indian Railways' Central Railway Zone. Ahmednagar is connected by train to places like as Pune, Manmad, Kopargaon, Shirdi, Daund, Goa, Nasik, and New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, and Ahmedabad. At this station, 41 fast trains stop. this radio station to their intended destinations
There is still a demand for direct rail connectivity to other major cities of India.

By Road:
Ahmednagar is well connected by road to Maharashtra's and other states' major cities. Ahmednagar is connected to Aurangabad, Parbhani, Pune, Nashik, Beed, Solapur, and Osmanabad by four-lane roads. The city is crossed by National Highway 222, which runs from Kalyan to Nirmal near Adilabad in Telangana. The Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation (MSRTC) and different private transport operators provide bus service connecting the city to all parts of the state. Ahmednagar has 3 main bus stands:
MSRTC Tarakpur Bus Stand - All the buses going via Ahmednagar, do stop here.
Maliwada Bus Stand - The buses going to Aurangabad/ Jalgaon/ Akola take a halt here.
Pune Bus Stand - Buses going to Pune/Mumbai take a halt here.

Although Ahmednagar district was created as early as in 1818, modern history of Ahmednagar may be said to have commenced from 1869, the year in which parts of Nashik and Solapur which till then had comprised Nagar were separated and the present Nagar district was formed. Ahmednagar District was created after the defeat of the Maratha Confederacy in the Third Anglo-Maratha War in 1818, when most of the Peshwa's domains were annexed to British India. The district remained part of the Central division of Bombay Presidency until India's independence in 1947, when it became part of Bombay State, and in 1960 the new state of Maharashtra.