• Screen Reader Access
  • A-AA+
  • NotificationWeb

    Title should not be more than 100 characters.


ناشر الأصول


Yavatmal's political leanings have consistently favoured the Congress Party since independence, with the majority of state government representatives (MLAs) and central government representatives (MPs) elected by the people of Yavatmal belonging to the Congress Party.
The pattern shifted in the 1990s, when members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were elected to key posts as MPs and MLAs to represent Yavatmal at both the state and national levels. Bhawna Gavli is the incumbent Member of Parliament for Yavatmal.

About Yavatmal
Old temples, tourist attractions, and business centres all contribute significantly to the district's social and economical development.
There are no historic forts in the district because of tourism. Tourists and devout alike are drawn to a small number of temples and a large
forest with lush greenery.
Cotton is an important cash crop in the district, and there is a large market for the Vidarbha region. Cotton gathering centres, jinning
factories, textile mills, and other enterprises that rely on cotton can be observed. Raymond's cotton-related enterprise has been running for
a long time, giving the district a distinct personality.

Yavatmal district is located in the Wardha Penganga-Wainganga plain, in the south-western half of the plain. Between 19.26' and 20.42' north latitudes, and 77.18' and 79.9' east longitudes, the district is located. To the north, it is flanked by the districts of Amravati and Wardha. To the east is the Chandrapur district. To the south, the state of Andhra Pradesh and the district of Nanded, and to the north, the districts of Parbhani and Akola.
The district covers 13582 square kilometres (4.41 percent of the state) and has a population of 2077144 people (2.63 percent of the State).
The population density is 153 people per square kilometre, which is lower than the state's average of 257 people per square kilometre.
Yavatmal ranks 6th in terms of area and 19th in terms of population among the state's 30 districts.
Yavatmal District has an average rainfall of 911.34 mm. Rabi cultivation is claimed to have decreased in recent years, owing in part to the
unpredictability of rainfall. On the other side, it is reported that excessive rains can harm or even destroy agriculture in some sections of
the district, and that some villages in Pusad taluka have previously stopped cultivating as a result of this.
The district's climate is hot and dry in general, with mildly cold winters. There are four distinct seasons in the year. The hot season starts
in March and lasts until June 1st. The south west monsoon season follows, lasting until the end of September. The post-monsoon season, which
includes October and November, is then followed by the cold season, which lasts until the end of December.

Tourist Places
Durg,Kalam,Mahur,Kelapur, Pargana,Zola Talav, Sahasra Kund, Sahsra Kund,Sahastrakund Waterfall,Tipeshwar Wildlife Sanctuary

How to Reach
By Road:
Maharashtra State Transport Corporation buses are available from ST Bus dept.
National Highway – Nagpur Haiderabad National Highway passing through various places of district such as Wadki, Karanji, Pandharkawada, Patanbori amd Kelapur etc.
State Hightway– Amravati to Chandrapur State Highway passing from Ner, Yavatmal, Jodmoha, Mohada, Umari, Karanji and Wani.
Nagpur to Tulzapur National Highway (204) also passing from Kalamb, Yavatmal, Arni, Umarkhed etc.

By Train:
Nearest Railways Station is Dhamangaon (Railways) which is siturated on central line and 49 KM away from district head quarter.Wani railways station is 103 KM away from Yavatmal district head quarter
Also from District headquarter, Badnera(Amravati) railways station is 83 KM away.
Yavatmal and Darwha are the places still on narrow gauge line.

By Air:
Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar International Airport Nagpur is only 151 KM. long from district head quarter.

In 1596, Chand Bibi, warrior queen of Ahmadnagar, ceded the district of Yavatmal to the Mughal Empire, then rulers of a large part of India. Following the death of the sixth Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb in 1707, Yavatmal was passed on to the Maratha Empire. When Raghoji I Bhonsle became ruler of the Nagpur kingdom in 1783, he included the Yavatmal district in his territory. After the British East India Company created Berar Province in 1853, Yavatmal became part of East Berar District in 1863 and later part of the South East Berar district—both districts of the Central Provinces and Berar. Yavatmal remained part of Madhya Pradesh until the 1956 reorganization of states when it was transferred to the Bombay State. With the creation of the Maharashtra state on 1 May 1960, Yavatmal district became a part of the same.