• Screen Reader Access
  • A-AA+
  • NotificationWeb

    Title should not be more than 100 characters.


Publicador de Conteúdo


Akola lies in the western part of Nagpur Division of Maharashtra State surrounded by Amravati district in the north and northeast, Yavatmal in the southeast, Parbhani in the south and Buldhana in the west. Akola region is situated in the Vidarbha region of the Central India.In 1998, Akola district was divided into two separate districts as - Akola & Washim.

 Akola has a plethora of historical, archaeological, religious, wildlife and natural scenic tourism potential. However, the district has seldom promoted or marketed itself as a tourist destination. Most of the tourists visiting Akola are from neighbouring districts of Maharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh, making it a domestic tourist destination. The tourists are restricted to the specific days of religious importance or hoildays. Due to its mythological roots, the region witness’s huge crowds during the Shrawan season of the Hindus.
The present Akola district, formed as a part of the Nizams dominion was assigned to the East India Company in 1853. It went to the British in liquidation of the large debt due because of arrears of pay on the Hyderabad contingent and as a security for future payment of that force. Berar once consisted of two districts- north and south. Berar was reconstituted into 2 districts- west Berar and east Berar. West Berar had its headquarters at Akola and east Berar at Amravati. In 1903, Berar was leased to the Government of India by the Nizam for an annual rent of 25 lakhs rupees.The administration of Berar shifted from Hyderabad to the Chief Commissioner of the Central Provinces. A part of the west Berar district went to the Buldhana district when it was constituted in 1864. Some parts of the district again went to Washim district when it was formed in the year 1875. The boundaries of the tehsils and district were changed. From Amravati, the Murtizapur tehsil went to Akola and Khamgaon and Jalgaon tehsils from Akola went to Buldhana district. The Washim district was broken down and the tehsils of Washim and Mangrulpir were joined with the newly constituted Akola district.