• Screen Reader Access
  • A-AA+
  • NotificationWeb

    Title should not be more than 100 characters.


Asset Publisher


Wardha district is one of Maharashtra's 35 districts in western India. The Nagpur Division includes this district. Wardha serves as the district's administrative headquarters. As of 2011, the district has a population of 1,300,774  people, with 26.28 percent of them living in cities. Wardha's history may be traced back to prehistoric times.

About Wardha
In relation to the district Wardha district was was a part of Nagpur district until 1862. Wardha district was created before the administration, and the district headquarters were established in Kawtha, near Pulgaon. The district headquarters were relocated to  Palkawalkari in 1866. (Wardha).

Berar is a Hindu kingdom in India.Little is known about the District's early history, but the river Wardha is mentioned as far back as the 2nd century B.C. Berar, the King of Vidharbha, is mentioned first. Later, Vidarbha (Berar) was divided into two kingdoms, each  ruling on one side of the river (between Berar and his cousin Madhavansena) (Wardha).Kings of the Chalukya and Radhtrakuta dynasties Wardha, along with the rest of Berar, was most likely ruled by the Chalukya Rajput dynasty, whose capital was in what is now Bijapur District and later Nasik, and whose reign lasted from from 550 to 750 A.D.
The Bahmani Kingdom Wardha was later absorbed into the territories of the Bahmani kings of Gul barga near Solapur and Bidar, who founded an independent principality in 1351 and were so named because the founder of their line, elected after Muhammad Tughlak's revolt, was either a Brahman or a Brahman's servant.
The Mughal Empire was one of the most powerful empires in the world. After a ninety-year existence, the Ellichpur kingdom was crushed by the king of Ahmadnagar in 1572, and Berar was  transferred from Ahmadnagar to the Emperor Akbar in around 1594.
The Invasion of the Maratha Empire The tract west of the Wardha included in Berar was finally given to Nagpur in 1822, with the Bhonslas retroceding the forts of Gawilgarh and Narnala and some other land to the Nizam at the same time.
Bhonsla is a kingdom in India.
In 1765, the Peshwa and Nizam forces marched into Wardha, looting the surrounding countryside and burning Nagpur in retaliation for Janoji-dishonesty I's in dealings with both of them.

Tourist Places
Laxminarayan Temple,Paramdham aashram,Girad Darga,SEVAGRAM AASHRAM,Bor Tiger Reserve,Hingni Fort,Garpit, Dhaga Forest, Bor Forest Mayabai Math, Ashti Talav, Pahad Farid Hill, Betel Garden, Gaolao Cattle, Bapukuti Sewagram Ashram, Paramdham Ashram, Hutatma Smarak,

How to Reach
By Road:
Regular Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation buses can be boarded at any of the Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation bus stops.

By Train:
In Wardha District, there are two railway stations.
Wardha railway station is located in Wardha, Uttar Pradesh.
Wardha is located in the wardha district of Maharashtra, India.
On the Howrah – Nagpur – Wardha – Bhusaval – Jalgaon – Mumbai CST line and the New Delhi Nagpur – Chennai line, it is an important junction station.
Sevagram railway station is located in the city of Sevagram.
It is a railway station that serves Sevagram town in Maharashtra's Wardha district.
It is part of Indian Railways' Central Railway Zone's Nagpur railway division. It is situated on the Indian Railways' Howrah–Nagpur–Mumbai line and the New Delhi–Chennai main line.

By Air:
Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar International Airport in Nagpur is the closest international airport, about a two-hour drive from Wardha. It is well connected by Jet Lite, Air India, Go Air, Indigo, and Jet Airways to major cities such as Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Delhi, Goa, Indore, Kolkata, Mumbai, Pune, and Srinagar.

Wardha was included in the empire of the Mauryas, Shungas, Satavahanas and Vakatakas. Pravarapura, modern Pavnar, was once the capital of the Vakataka dynasty. Vakatakas were contemporaries of the Imperial Guptas. Prabhavatigupta, the daughter of Chandragupta II (Vikramaditya), was married to the Vakataka ruler Rudrasena. The period of the Vakatakas was from the 2nd to the 5th century CE. The empire stretched from the Arabian Sea in the west to the Bay of Bengal in the east, and from the Narmada River in the north to the Krishna-Godavari delta in south.